Racers climb up fire road 2N10 at the start of the race.

Big Bear, Ca, June 20, 2011, 3:00pm –

 This past Sunday cyclists came from across California, Oregon, South Africa, Mexico and beyond to compete in the Kenda Cup Team Big Bear Mountain Bike Race Finals in Big Bear.  This event was also part two in the Conquer the Cub and Conquer the Bear series, part of Open Air Big Bear.  The event had a special element to it this year, incorporating a 50-mile marathon race, along with the standard 18 mile and 24 mile course loops.  The Conquer the Cub participants did the 18 mile loop, and the Conquer the Bear participants did the 24 mile loop, while the marathoners did two laps of the 24 mile loop, plus a little extra.

[audio:http://kbhr933.com/wp-content/uploads/SP30837.mp3|titles=Kenda Cup Conquer the Bear Bike Race Results June 2011]

Women's Conquer The Bear overall leader Heather Devito, on one of the last sections of single track in the race.

After a grueling day of racing Heather Devito of Big Bear Lake, and Jessie Haynes of Vista, Ca retained their top spots as the Conquer the Bear Leaders in the four event series, which started earlier this year with Snowshoe the Bear in February.  Cathleen Calkins took the third place spot overall for Conquer the Bear, with Angela Meyers taking the second place overall spot for the women.  Ted Devito held onto his second place spot for the series, followed by Casey Williams.  For the Conquer the Cub standings, Janet Maxwell leads for the women, followed by Michelle Russell and Brandi Johnson, and Jimmy Johnson leads for the men, followed by Travis Martinez and George Crezee.   For more information on the next Open Air Big Bear events go to www.OpenAirBigBear.com.

Veronica Eliason, Cat 2 Rider, starts the climb.

61 year old George Crezee finishes the 18 mile course, and takes third in the men's Conquer the Cub series!