Tag: Scholarship Program

Rotary Club Honors Scholarship Winners

Big Bear, CA, May 4, 2012, 1:00pm – The Rotary Club of Big Bear Lake has announced the names of the winners of their 2012 Rotary Scholarship Program.  This year the Club is awarding a total of $7500 in five separate scholarships of $1500 each.  The Rotary Scholarship winners include Lindsay Hafen, Jackson Rees and Alyssa Larson for academic scholarships, Carly Jo Reeves for the Bob Wood Memorial Scholarship in Communications and Journalism and Dru Chilcoat for the John Voss Memorial Scholarship used towards Vocational School.  The students will be introduced at the annual Rotary Eagle of Excellence Community Service Awards and Dinner this Sunday evening, May 6th.  The deserving students receiving these scholarships are recognized for their academic achievement, student government, sports, clubs, fine arts, outside work and for their community service during their high school careers.  Thirty-three applicants applied this year from a class of 176 students.  Applications were reviewed by a committee of Rotary members who then made the selections in each category.  Committee Chair Dave Caretto stated “there were many qualified and deserving students; we only wish we had more funds to distribute.  The quality of our high school students is outstanding, and this is a tribute not only to the students themselves but also to their parents, their teachers and their school.”   Additionally, the Rotary Club sponsors scholarships through the Mihaylo Foundation and the...

Read More

Cara Burks Crowned Miss Big Bear 2012

Big Bear, Ca, September 13, 2011, 11:00am – Miss Big Bear 2012 was crowned this past Saturday night.  Miss Big Bear 2011 Anna Peckham was at the pageant, and crowned Cara Burks as the new Miss Big Bear.  Cara and the other participants were interviewed prior to the pageant, gave a self-introduction at the pageant, and wore an evening gown.  Randynn Young, Megn Lona, Samantha Swanson, and McKensie Wolf were runners up, and will make up Miss Big Bear’s court.  Additionally Carly Jo Reeves was voted as Miss Photogenic, Miss Big Bear herself Cara Burks was voted as Miss Congeniality, and the spirit of Miss Big Bear award was given to Nadia Jenkins.  Cara Burks will serve as Miss Big Bear until next year when a new young lady is...

Read More

New Miss Big Bear Crowned This Weekend

Big Bear, Ca, September 6, 2011, 3:00pm – The Miss Big Bear Pageant will take place this Saturday night at the Performing Arts Center.  20 young ladies from across the Big Bear Valley will compete in this year’s scholarship competition.  The lucky young lady to win the title of Miss Big Bear will be given a $2,500 scholarship, with the 1st runner up receiving a $1000 scholarship, 2nd runner up receiving $750 scholarship, 3rd runner up will receive a $500 scholarship, and the 4th runner up will receive a $250 scholarship. The 20 young ladies competing this year include: Kelly Anderson, Cara Burks, Ashley Chicca, Sarah Contreras, Brenda DeLaRosa, Shaylee Hall, Tara Hubbard, Nadia Jenkins, Annika Keeting, Megn Lona, Lauren McKinley, Hayley Natzic, Brianna Piper, Mikaela Powers, Carly Jo Reeves, Samara Rickman, Jennie Silva, Samantha Swanson, McKinzee Wolf, and Randynn Young.  The Miss Big Bear Competition dates back to the mid-1970’s and before that local Big Bear girls competed in the Snow Queen competition.  This year the Miss Bear Pageant will be showcasing Snow Queen’s of the past with a slide show.  The pageant will take place on September 10th at 5:00pm at the Performing Arts Center. Tickets are nearly sold out, so if you would like to attend be sure to call Teresa at...

Read More

The Local Buzz