Tag: Big Bear Airport District

Big Bear Airport District Board of Directors Notice of Vacancy

Big Bear, CA, May 2nd, 2016 – Due to the resignation of Gary Steube, there is a vacancy on the Board of Directors of the Big Bear Airport District. Pursuant to Government Code Section 1780, the Board is notifying the community of the vacancy and soliciting candidates/applicants to fill the vacancy.  The person chosen to fill the vacancy shall serve until the first Friday in December, 2016; if the person wishes to continue to serve on the Board, he or she must run for the position in the upcoming General Election to be held on November 8, 2016. The...

Read More

Board Approves Big Bear City Airport Renovation

Big Bear City, CA, March 15, 2016 – Easy access to the Big Bear City Airport is a significant component to expanding the community’s plans for making us a first class resort destination. Last week, the public got its first glimpse of what the airport might look like following a remodeling of the terminal building during the March 9th meeting of the airport’s Board of Directors. The airport board heard presentations from two firms: Boyer & Associates of Crestline and Mountain Architecture Inc. of Big Bear City. In other business, the Big Bear City Airport Board is once again considering the purchase of Bear City Park that sits just...

Read More

Election Update: Candidates Added to November Race

Big Bear Lake, CA, August 15, 2014 – The statewide general election is November 4, 2014, and voter information guides will be mailed out the first week of October. The Registrar of Voters updated their records overnight to include additional candidates for the Big Bear Airport District (see full list below). The ballot will include open seats on six local governing boards: the School District, the Airport District, the Healthcare District, the Municipal Water District, the Community Services District and the Big Bear Lake City Council. Some incumbents are running uncontested. Even with the deadline for candidates being extended to August 13th, for example, no challengers filed paperwork for the City Council seats–the first time that’s happened in 20 years. That leaves an uncontested race for incumbents Dave Caretto, Randy Putz and KBHR’s Rick Herrick. City Clerk Cheri Haggerty said the Council will hold a Special Meeting on  August 19 at 4:15 p.m. to decide whether to appoint the three by acclimation or still proceed with an election. The candidates for other boards are as follows (*uncontested race). *Bear Valley Community Healthcare District (2 seats, 4-year term): Gail McCarthy, Sara Russ Bear Valley Unified School District (2 seats, 4-year term): Steve Foulkes, John Goepp, Kenneth Turney Big Bear Airport District, Short-Term: (1 seat, 2-year term): Lynn Wilson, Gary Steube Big Bear Airport District (2 seats, 4-year term): Steven Baker,...

Read More

The Local Buzz