Big Bear, Ca, August 18, 2010, 10:00am – The candidates who have filed for positions specific for the Big Bear Valley include three available seats for the City of Big Bear Lake City Council.  Candidates include David Caretto, Rick Herrick, Carol Mulvihill, Jay Obernolte, Barbara Willey, and Peter Greco who filed during the extension period.  Incumbents Darrell Mulvihill and Michael Karp did not file papers.  Candidates for Bear Valley Unified School District’s two available seats are Mary Beth Bonkowski, Christine Giddens, Belinda Masse-Rainwater, Kenneth Turney, Al Waner and Larry Winslow.  Incumbent Debra Sarkisian is not running for re-election.  Big Bear Community Services District has one seat available for short term and the candidates who filed include Patricia Miller, Paul Terry and Bob Ybarra.  Candidates running for one of the three seats for CSD for long term are John Day, John Green, Marge McDonald, Jeff Newsome, Denise Proffer, and James Smith.  Big Bear Airport District board has two seats available and Steven Baker and Gary Stube have both filed papers.  Incumbent Jay Obernolte is running for City Council.  Bear Valley Community Health care District candidates for two available seats are Barbara Espinoza and James Gonzales.  Michael Perry had filed but has withdrawn from the race.  All three incumbents for the Municipal Water District Divisions one through three have filed unopposed to include Todd Murphy for Division 1, Paula Fashempour for Division 2, and Skip Suhay for Division 3.  The election will take place on November 2nd.