Big Bear Valley, CA — In additional news from Bear Valley Unified, the Bear Valley Education Association, the bargaining unit that represents the certificated union (meaning teachers), has seven new chairmen on their committee of 10, including two newly elected negotiators, Ken Nettlebeck of BBHS and Pam Reames of Big Bear Elementary. For many years, high school teacher Scott Hird has been vice president (to Alan Caldwell, long president), though Hird was elected to serve as BVEA president as of school year’s end; other returning chairmen are high school teacher David Bumstead as treasurer and North Shore teacher Karen Geiger as membership chair. The seven newly elected BVEA representatives include Vice President Debi Burton (BBHS math teacher transitioned to the middle school); Secretary Nicol Erdmier from Big Bear Elementary; high school teacher Doreen DeNigris as the political action chair; high school teacher Linda Pyles as insurance representative; and just-rehired Big Bear Elementary teacher Amy Ellis as BVEA’s social chair.