bblcity-thumb1The City Council of Big Bear Lake convenes for their first regular meeting of the month this evening (July 10), though they had met last Tuesday to interview candidates, and subsequently appoint Craig Smith, Rich Lambert and Jim DeGroot to the Planning Commission and Fred Miller and Karen Dally to the DWP Board. In this evening’s City Council meeting, to be held at 6:30pm in Hofert Hall at the Civic Center, Council is agendized to discuss the City’s charter for the Department of Water and Power which, at present, dictates that DWP Commissioners must be residents of Big Bear Lake, though the water company services residents in Sugarloaf, Fawnskin and Erwin Lake. This evening’s meeting is also scheduled to include an update on the phase 2 improvements to Boulder Bay Park.