As the 2009/2010 school year is about to wrap (on June 17), the Board of Trustees for the Bear Valley Unified School District this month honored 16 employees for their years of service to the district. Those recognized included 20-year employees Joanna Kent, Karin Powell and Cynthia Bauer, employed at North Shore Elementary; Baldwin Lane teacher Laura Larson; Charlene Cardwell and Debra Davis, both at Big Bear Elementary; Big Bear High School teachers Julia Smith and David Bumstead; Michael Page from the transportation department and Annette Sipes of food services. Those honored for 25 years of service include Big Bear Elementary teacher Priscilla Alexander, Ron Dobis of Big Bear Middle School, and high school teacher Diane Thompson. Joyce Carlson of North Shore and Lisa Schour of BBHS were recognized for 30 years of service to BVUSD, while Chautauqua Principal Steve Schour was singled out for his 35-year commitment to the district. The school board will meet again this evening, for a workshop to be held at the district offices on Moonridge Road at 5:30pm; this evening’s meeting will include a presentation on online learning from consultant Sandy Sanford, as well as hiring approval for staff to work at summer school, which will be offered to 8th through 12th grade students. The four-week summer school is a two-session program to be held at Big Bear High School starting on June 21st.