PaddleFest 10k Ted Devito 1st, Adam Williams 2nd, Ramon Escobar 3rd.

Big Bear Valley, CA, July 12, 2010, 10:10am – This past weekend, the third annual Big Bear Paddlefest helped to put Big Bear Lake on the paddling map!  The Big Bear Paddlefest was the third of four main events sponsored by Open Air Big Bear.  Additional events this year included Snowshoe the Bear and Team Big Bear cross Country Mountain Bike Races.  The next event will be Endure the Bear Mountain Trail Run on September 11th that will feature a 30K, 15K, and a 5K Family Fun run/walk.  This weekend’s Big Bear Paddlefest two-day event culminated in races on Sunday to include a 10K and 5K canoe or kayak, tandem or solo races.  Additionally, new to the event this year, a 30K around the lake race brought out some serious racers.  First through third place winners from the Women’s 10K include Kelly Brunson, Heather DeVito and Diane Bradley.  Men’s 10K winners were Ted DeVito, Adam Williams and Ramon Escobar.  In the 5K division, the first through third place winners were Rick Herrick, Steve Foulkes and Dan McKernan.  For women, the winners were Francesca Graziano, Glenna Spindalman and Kathy Portie.  The top female 30K winner was Doreen Wolf; with Chris Roberts coming in first for the 30K men.  The 30K Tandem teams winners were Jay Alfano and Kevin Anderson.  The 5K tandem Kayak top three winners were Nancy Goulet/Mindy Clark, Kerry Olsen and team and Karen and Dave Ness.  Stand Up Paddling Men’s 5K winners were Jed Kendall, Jeff Alter and Larry Froley.  Stand Up Paddling Women’s 5K were Sue Kendall, Debbie Church and Terri Wargo.  Mike and Dana St. Clair placed first in the 5K Canoe division and Dominique Banse and Team placed first in the 10K Canoe division.  The Men’s 10K Stand Up Paddling winners were Colin McPhillips, Mark Carlisle and Brad Cramer.  The Women’s 10K Stand Up Paddling winners were Kristin Thomas and Debbie Church.  10K Tandem winners were Dean Saylor and John Everman, Nancy and Ann Goulet and Simon and Graham Miller.  Winner of the Conquer the Bear Elite that includes the three prior events for Women are Kelly Brunson and Diane Bradley; for Men are Adam Williams, Casey Williams and Cameron Williams.  Conquer the Bear non-elite winners for Women are Marlyce Davis, Susan Maya and Angela Meyers; for Men are Rick Herrick, Dave Lawrence and Carl Davis.   Hunter Mraz 12 yrs old, won the Kids 2.5K race, congratulations!