Big Bear Lake, CA, July 22, 2010, 5:14pm – Last Wednesday at 5pm was the application deadline for full-time Big Bear Lake residents interested in applying to serve on either the Planning Commission or the Department of Water and Power Board of Commissioners for terms that extend through June 30, 2013.  According to the City of Big Bear Lake City Clerk, residents who applied for the one available position for the Planning Commission were Barbara Willey, Mary Jones, Don Smith, Robert Jackowski, Todd Bittner, Rusty Barnes, Jerry Roberts and Curtis Bryant.  Applications were accepted for the one seat on the DWP Board from Barbara Willey, Douglas MacIver, Don Smith and Robert Jackowski.  During the next step, staff will contact the Big Bear Lake City Council to schedule a date and time for interviewing the applicants. In other election news, for the zone-specific seats available on the Big Bear Municipal Water District’s Board of Directors; residents who have been issued nomination documents to run again included Todd Murphy for Division 1, Paula Fashempour for Division 2 and Skip Suhay for Division 3.  This November 2, 2010 election will include federal, state and county offices as well as 15 offices specific to the Big Bear Valley.  Prospective candidates have until Friday, August 6 to file candidate papers with the Registrar of Voters in order to be included in the November General Election.